Brunswick Reckless Driving Lawyer
Many drivers in Brunswick County do not realize that they are being charged with a crime after receiving a reckless driving citation. The most important thing you should know about reckless driving in Virginia is that you cannot just pay a fine online and forget about it. Whether you were speeding, drag racing, passing a stopped school bus, or even driving with faulty brakes, you could be charged with Virginia’s most serious class of misdemeanor.
A Brunswick reckless driving attorney can help you navigate the complexities of Virginia’s court system and reckless driving laws. An experienced Brunswick defense attorney can help you develop a strong defense strategy, and fight to reduce your penalties. En Español.
Types of Reckless Driving Offenses
In Virginia, “reckless driving” refers to any driving behavior that endangers the “life, limb, or property of any person.”
Since the law is so general, it means that a wide variety of offenses count as “reckless” even if they do not cause an accident. These offenses which may warrant contact with a Brunswick County reckless driving lawyer include:
- Racing another vehicle
- Passing a school bus that is stopped to load or unload children
- Driving too fast for weather and traffic conditions
- Passing two vehicles abreast
- Driving with an obstructed view
- Failing to yield right of way
- Failing to give proper signals
However, the most common forms of reckless driving in Brunswick are:
- Driving 20 miles per hour or more over the speed limit, or exceeding 80 miles per hour on any road or highway
- Failing to maintain control of the vehicle or driving with faulty brakes
- Driving behavior that causes an accident, such as falling asleep at the wheel, weaving in and out of lanes, following too closely, driving on the wrong side of the road
Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor making it imperative that an expeirenced Brunswick reckless driving lawyer is consulted. Violating reckless driving laws in Brunswick can have a big impact on someone’s life, from an inability to get to work due to a suspended license to demerit points on their driving record that can increase their car insurance premiums.
A reckless driving charge in Brunswick could even be punished by jail time (up to 12 months) and other more serious consequences like:
- Up to $2,500 in fines, plus court fees
- Court ordered enrollment in Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP)
- A permanent criminal record
Although most Brunswick reckless driving offenses are considered misdemeanors, there are some cases where a person could be charged with a Class 6 felony. For example, a person could be charged with felony reckless driving if they were recklessly driving or drunk driving when their license was previously revoked for a DUI related offense, or if they caused the death of another person.
Contacting a Brunswick Reckless Driving Attorney
A conviction for a misdemeanor in Virginia can have long-lasting consequences. Whether you were charged with reckless driving after a car accident or as a result of speeding, racing, or any other traffic violation, a reckless driving lawyer in Brunswick can provide you with the help and support you need. Call a skilled attorney today to begin your defense.