Culpeper Reckless Driving Lawyer
Whether you drive the streets of Culpeper, Virginia, in your daily commute or whether you are an out-of-state driver passing through, a reckless driving charge can quickly become more than just a minor nuisance. In Virginia, reckless driving is a misdemeanor, therefore making it important to consult a Culpeper reckless driving lawyer to determine how to handle your case.
If you have been charged with reckless driving, call and schedule a consultation with a Culpeper criminal lawyer today to discuss your case.
Why Call a Reckless Driving Lawyer in Culpeper, VA?
Traffic stops are typically associated with citations for various driving infractions. These citations, or traffic tickets, are generally punishable by a fine only. For most drivers, the ticket little more than an unexpected expense.
A reckless driving stop, however, potentially has much greater consequences—including possible jail time and a criminal record.
Scheduling a free consultation with a Culpeper reckless driving lawyer can help you understand the penalties you may be facing and can help you explore options for fighting a reckless driving charge.
From working for a dismissal of inappropriate charges to negotiating a plea to a lesser charge or even a mere citation, your Culpeper reckless driving attorney can advocate for you and your situation.
Culpeper Reckless Driving Laws
Virginia law defines reckless driving in general as driving in any manner that jeopardizes a person’s safety or endangers property (Virginia Code Section 46.2-852).
Commonly, reckless driving charges are the result of excessive speed. In Virginia, there ae three ways a person can be charged with reckless driving by speed:
- Exceeding the speed limit by 20 miles per hour or more ( 46.2-862)
- Driving at a speed in excess of 80 miles per hour (also in 46.2-862)
- Driving too fast for conditions (46.2-861)
In addition to the general definition of reckless driving and the prohibitions against reckless driving by speed, Virginia law in sections 46.2-853 through 46.2-863 outlines specific driving behaviors that constitute reckless driving. These statutes include the following as acts of reckless driving:
- Driving with bad brakes
- Driving with an obstructed view
- Illegal passing, including passing on a curve, passing at the crest of a hill, passing two vehicles abreast, passing at a railroad crossing, and passing a stopped school bus
- Driving two abreast in a single lane
- Failing to signal for a lane change or turn
- Failing to yield right-of-way
If you are charged with reckless driving in Culpeper, Virginia, call to speak with a Culpeper reckless driving lawyer as quickly as possible.
Reckless Driving Penalties in Virginia
Whereas a typical traffic ticket is punishable by a fine only, a reckless driving charge is a Class 1 misdemeanor which has a maximum sentence of one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. As a reckless driving lawyer in Virginia can tell you, a conviction may also carry a license suspension of up to 6 months.
Additionally, a reckless driving conviction is accompanied by 6 points against your driving record with the Virginia DMV. The violation will remain on your record for more than a decade.
Fight the Charge with a Culpeper Reckless Driving Attorney
With representation from a reckless driving attorney in Culpeper, you may be able to get the charge dismissed completely or significantly reduced to “improper driving,” a traffic citation punishable by fine only.
Contact us today to find out how our Culpeper reckless driving lawyers may be able to help you.