Fairfax CDL DUI Attorneys
Being charged with driving under the influence while holding a commercial driver’s license can be even more problematic than receiving a standard DUI, since it can directly impact a commercial driver’s career.
Many commercial drivers are surprised to learn that even if a DUI charge occurred while driving a personal vehicle and not while in the course of conducting business, a driver may still be held to the heightened commercial driver standard and can lose his or her commercial license.
If you have been charged with DUI, whether you were driving a commercial vehicle or not, your Fairfax CDL DUI attorney can be your advocate in fighting to keep the charge from hurting your career.
If you are a commercial driver and have been charged with DUI, a Fairfax CDL DUI lawyer can work to minimize the effect a DUI charge can have on your professional life.
Call a DUI lawyer in Fairfax as soon as possible to give yourself the best possible opportunity.
Stricter Standards and Harsher Penalties for Commercial Drivers
As a commercial driver, you are required to keep your BAC under 0.04 at all times while driving, even on your own time and in your personal vehicle.
While the blood alcohol content level required for police to presume that a driver is impaired in Virginia is 0.08, the legal limit for commercial drivers is 0.04 under Virginia Code 46.2-341.18:1.
To put this strict standard in perspective, many commercial drivers are shocked to learn from their Fairfax CDL DUI attorney that a BAC of 0.05 or less is presumed under Virginia Code 18.2-269 to indicate that a non-commercial driver is not under the influence of alcohol, yet they are still prohibited from driving with a 0.04 BAC.
If a person is convicted of CDL DUI, he or she could lose their commercial license for up to one year and receive points on their license.
Drivers who are arrested while in the process of transporting hazardous materials – such as toxic substances or flammable industrial chemicals, for instance – can lose their license for a minimum of three years.
Standard DUI Penalties Also Apply to Commercial Drivers
In addition to losing their commercial driver’s license, drivers who are charged with CDL DUI also face the standard DUI penalties as well. This includes a possible one-year license suspension, a fine of up to $2500 and a potential jail sentence of up to 12 months for a first DUI offense. Any time a driver’s standard license is suspended or revoked, his CDL may also be suspended until the standard license is reinstated.
Because even an off-the-clock DUI charge can affect a driver’s commercial license and, as a result, his or her professional livelihood, commercial drivers facing DUI charges will need to consult a Fairfax CDL DUI lawyer right away, regardless of the circumstances that led to the arrest.
Multiple CDL DUI Convictions
A second DUI offense could result in a total revocation of a CDL for life. This is why the assistance of an experienced Fairfax CDL DUI lawyer is absolutely critical to your efforts to hold on to your commercial driver’s license and protect your employment opportunities if you have a prior DUI charge.
For this reason, the assistance of an experienced Fairfax CDL DUI lawyer is absolutely critical to your efforts to hold on to your commercial driver’s license and protect your employment opportunities if you have a prior DUI charge.
Consult an Experienced Fairfax CDL DUI Lawyer
Our Fairfax CDL DUI attorneys understand how worrisome a DUI can be to a commercial driver. While there are no guarantees on the ultimate outcome of your case, having a CDL DUI lawyer in Fairfax fighting for you is the first step you can take to protect your employability as a commercial driver.