Manassas Drug Lawyer
The federal government and states around the nation have begun backing away from mandatory minimum sentences for drug crimes, but some states, including Virginia, continue to have tough penalties for even minor drug offenses. If you are charged with drug possession, distribution, or manufacture, find a Manassas drug lawyer to defend you in court.
To learn more about what experienced legal representation can do for your case call and schedule a consultation with a Manassas criminal lawyer today.
Manassas Drug Offenses: Laws and Penalties
In Virginia, drug offenses are typically prosecuted according to the type and quantity of the controlled substance involved in the case.
To some extent, Virginia’s drug schedules mimic federal drug schedules in classifying controlled substances according to their legitimacy of their medical use and the likelihood of addiction or abuse. Typically, simple possession of a Schedule I or II CDS is a felony, even as a first offense.
- Schedule I drugs (Virginia Code § 54.1-3446) – include substances such as heroin, LSD, GHB, and ecstasy (MDMA)
- Schedule II drugs ( 54.1-3448) – include substances such as methamphetamine, cocaine, oxycodone, morphine, and methadone
Under Virginia Code 18.2-250, possession of a Schedule I or II drug is a Class 5 felony, punishable by up to 10 years in prison.
Possession of a Schedule III drug is a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail. Other types of drug offenses include:
- Possession with intent
- Volume dealing/Continuing criminal enterprise
Because the seriousness of the offense and the associated penalties vary so widely, it is imperative that anyone accused of a drug crime find a drug lawyer in Manassas as quickly as possible. Your attorney can help you understand the charge and possible consequences in your specific case, and can tailor an appropriate defense strategy to help you successfully fight the charge.
Marijuana Possession in Manassas, Virginia
Generally, the possession of marijuana is still illegal in Virginia. Citizens may possess small amounts for medical purposes if they have a valid order from a doctor; however, orders from other states may or may not satisfy this exception. If you have been charged with possessing marijuana and believe you have a valid order from a doctor allowing you to possess it, you should consult a drug attorney in Manassas who can help you with your defense.
Possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor charge in Virginia. A first offense is punishable by no more than 30 days in jail and/or a fine of no more than $250. If convicted, your license will automatically be suspended for six months. A second or subsequent offense is a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by no more than 12 months in jail and/or a fine of not more than $2500.
Drug Distribution, Trafficking, and Manufacture
While possession of drugs is harshly punished by Virginia law, other drug offenses carry even stronger penalties. Drug distribution—including possession with intent to distribute; manufacture of methamphetamine, synthetic drugs, or other controlled substances; marijuana cultivation; and trafficking in illegal drugs all have enhanced penalties over simple possession for personal use.
What a Manassas Drug Attorney Can Do for You
The penalties for Virginia drug crimes range from jail time to decades in prison. If you are charged with a drug offense in Manassas, finding an attorney who is familiar with the Prince William County court system can be the strongest defense in your arsenal. Your lawyer can work to preserve your rights during an investigation and build a defense framework that brings your case to its best possible resolution.
A misunderstanding can quickly lead to serious criminal charges. If you have been charged with possession of prescription drugs, marijuana possession, possession of a CDS, meth manufacturing, possession with intent to distribute, trafficking in illegal drugs, or any other Virginia drug offense, call today to schedule a free initial consultation.