Reckless driving, unlike many other moving violations, is a criminal offense that is punishable with penalties, including incarceration. It is an offense that should be handled by a skilled criminal defense attorney that has experience handling reckless driving cases in the relevant jurisdiction.
After being cited for reckless driving in Virginia, you do not have the option of paying a fine before the date of the hearing to resolve the matter, which is fairly common with speeding tickets. If you have been ticketed for reckless driving in Mecklenburg County, contact an experienced defense attorney to get the representation needed to protect your interests. A Mecklenburg reckless driving lawyer can help build your defense to your charges right away.
Driving on a highway or road in a manner or at a speed that endangers the life, limb, or property of another person in Virginia is reckless driving. There are 14 actions that a driver can engage in that may result in a reckless driving charge and leave the driver subject to the corresponding penalties. Reckless driving does not require that the driver causes an accident or even that an incident occurs for a police officer to site the driver.
The standard in some cases is clear, but there is a reckless driving catchall that allows a police officer to charge a driver with reckless driving when they drive in a manner that, subjectively, the officer deemed reckless.
Speeding is the most common driving action that can result in a reckless driving charge in Virginia. Driving faster than 80 miles per hour or exceeding 19 miles per hour over the posted speed limit is reckless driving and may result in a criminal citation being issued.
Violation of Mecklenburg County reckless driving laws is a Class 1 misdemeanor, the most serious misdemeanor offense, which is punishable with up to a one-year imprisonment, fines up to $2,500, or both.
Additionally, a driver that is charged with reckless driving is obligated to go to court for scheduled hearings, as is the case in other criminal offenses.
A driver that is convicted of reckless driving will also be subject to administrative penalties, in addition to any criminal penalties that the court imposes. A reckless driving conviction accrues six points on the driver’s driving record with the Department of Motor Vehicles and will remain on their driving record for more than 10 years.
That will result in a vehicle insurance rate increase. Meanwhile, insurance companies are not well known for reducing a driver’s insurance premiums once there has been a reason to increase it.
A driver that is convicted of reckless driving can have their driver’s license revoked for up to six months, if the individual is a Virginia resident. A non-resident driver that is convicted of reckless driving can lose the right to drive in Virginia. Additionally, the revocation of driving privileges in Virginia will be reported to the driver’s license state of issuance, which is likely to result in the driver’s license being revoked in that state for six months.
It is always in a driver’s best interest to work with an experienced reckless driving attorney in Mecklenburg when charged with reckless driving.
Regardless of the underlying act that led to a reckless driving charge, a skilled Mecklenburg reckless driving lawyer will work to get the best possible outcome for your case.
Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.