Prince William County Reckless Driving Lawyer
Reckless driving is a crime prosecutable under the laws of Virginia. If you have been charged with driving recklessly, you may have questions about what constitutes reckless driving and what that may mean for your future. The knowledge and experience of a Prince William County reckless driving lawyer can help you minimize the impact of these criminal charges.
The Prince William criminal attorneys at our firm have experience dealing with reckless driving charges up and down the I-95 corridor, as well as throughout Northern Virginia and they could help you understand your charges.
The Benefit of a Local Attorney
One of the primary reasons for working with a Prince William County reckless driving lawyer is because a local attorney brings a great deal of relevant courtroom knowledge to the table when dealing with prosecutors and judges in a specific jurisdiction. If you happen to be an out-of-state driver, a Virginia reckless driving attorney from our firm can even represent you in court without you having to be physically present.
What is Reckless Driving?
According to Virginia Code Section 46.2-852, reckless driving is defined as someone who disregards the posted maximum speeds, typically speeds 20 miles per hour or more over the legal speed limit, drives any type of motorized vehicle on any highway or roadway in a reckless way or in a manner, that can endanger the life, property, or physical well-being of another person.
Some examples of reckless driving can include but are not limited to:
- Switching lanes quickly and repeatedly without signaling
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Failing to yield the right of way
- Passing on a blind curve
If you do not know whether your actions are considered reckless by law, speak with a Prince William County reckless driving lawyer today.
Penalties for Driving Recklessly
Virginia Code Section 46.2-868 states that if convicted of reckless driving, you may be found guilty of a class 1 misdemeanor. A class 1 misdemeanor carries a sentence of up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500. In addition, a driver’s privilege to drive in Virginia may be suspended up to six months.
The penalty for driving recklessly with a suspended license, or if your reckless driving caused the death of another, you may be found guilty of a class 6 felony which carries a sentence of up to five years in prison and/or a fine of up to $2,500.
Finding a Reckless Driving Attorney in Prince William
As you see from the list above, there are numerous different types of reckless driving categorized within the Virginia state legal code. Knowing where your particular case falls within these categories can be difficult, but you don’t have to learn the letter of the law to defend yourself against the charges. Prince William County prosecutors takes reckless driving very seriously, and will pursue such a case harshly.
Therefore, retaining a Prince William County reckless driving lawyer for representation in court is in your best interests, as the attorney will fight to get your penalties reduced or eliminated entirely.
Call our firm today and speak with a friendly member of our legal team to set up your free initial consultation.