What is Reckless Driving in Virginia Beach?
Reckless driving in Virginia Beach includes a variety of moving violations, however, the general definition is operating a motor vehicle in a reckless manner that endangers life, limb, or property. Some specific examples of this include driving 20 miles per hour over the posted speed limit, driving over 80 miles per hour, passing a stopped school bus or an emergency vehicle with its lights on, driving too fast for the weather conditions, or driving with faulty brakes or drag racing.
If you are accused of any of these it is important you consult with a Virginia Beach reckless driving lawyer as soon as possible to discuss your case.
Consequences of Reckless Driving in Virginia Beach
The penalties for reckless driving in Virginia can potentially be steep and long-lasting. Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor which is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2,500. A conviction results in six demerit points on someone’s DMV record which remains on there for up to 11 years. A person convicted of reckless driving also faces up to a six month license suspension.
For a reckless driving by speed which is generally the most common, penalties increase as the speed that someone is charged with increases. Possible penalties for excessive speed include a suspended license and an active jail sentence.
Forms of Reckless Driving
You can be charged with reckless driving if an officer alleges you were:
- Driving 20 miles over the posted speed limit
- Driving over 80 miles per hour
- Passing a stopped school bus or an emergency vehicle with its lights on
- Driving too fast for weather conditions
- Driving with faulty brakes
- Or even drag racing
There is also general reckless driving, which is when someone is driving in a manner that endangers life, limb, or property. It’s a catch-all category that many different behaviors can be lumped into.
What Are The Differences Between Reckless Driving And A Traffic Violation?
A traffic violation only results in consequences on your DMV record which overtime will go away. For a reckless driving conviction, not only does it result in a DMV record, but it also results in a criminal record which is permanent.
Traffic tickets are also pre-payable which means that you can avoid going to court completely if you just prepay the fine online or through check. For reckless driving there’s no option to prepay and you are obligated to make a court appearance.
Contact a Virginia Beach Reckless Driving Lawyer Today
If you are convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, that is considered a criminal conviction. A criminal conviction is also not able to be expunged which means that someone will likely be reminded of the conviction on their criminal record many times throughout their life such as when they apply for jobs or for school. Therefore it is often a good idea to consult with a Virginia Beach reckless driving lawyer as soon as possible if charged.