Loudoun County Felony DUI Lawyer
If you have a slip in judgment and end up facing DUI charges, you are not unlike many other people across Virginia and nationwide who have made the same mistake.
The key to getting through this difficult situation is to remember that you are not alone, and many others have gone through this same situation. Regardless of the severity of your DUI charges, a Loudoun County felony DUI lawyer may be able to assist you with your case.
While the penalties for any DUI conviction in the Commonwealth of Virginia are very serious, the stakes become much higher when you are facing a felony DUI or DUI-related charge. Having a felony charge on your criminal background can make it difficult to get or keep a job and may bar you from certain professions altogether. This is why you should contact an experienced DUI lawyer.
With an accompanying indefinite driver’s license suspension, felony DUI attorneys in Loudoun County know that your ability to work following a felony-level DUI conviction may be significantly curtailed.
Felony DUI Charges and Penalties
Virginia Code § 18.2-270 provides that a third DUI conviction in Loudoun County is a Class 6 felony, which can result in a prison sentence of up to five years and a fine ranging from $1,000 to $2,500. The minimum prison sentence for this offense depends on whether the three convictions occurred with a five-year or a ten-year period.
For three convictions within a ten-year period, the minimum sentence of incarceration is 90 days, whereas, for three convictions within a five-year period, the minimum sentence is six months. Individuals also may have their vehicles confiscated following a third DUI conviction so long as they are the sole owner and operator of the vehicle.
Once individuals have been convicted of a felony DUI or felony DUI-related offense or their fourth DUI charge within a ten-year period, subsequent DUI charges also are Class 6 felonies. In this situation, individuals will face a mandatory minimum sentence of incarceration of one year and a mandatory minimum fine of $1,000.
Forfeiture of Driver’s License and DUI
According to § 18.2-271, individuals who are convicted of a third or subsequent DUI within a ten-year period or felony DUI will forfeit their driver’s licenses indefinitely. In these circumstances, individuals cannot participate in an alcohol safety action program and have an ignition interlock installed in order to obtain a restricted license.
Given the gravity of these penalties and the resulting effects on individuals’ ability to work and support their families, the intervention of a Loudoun County felony DUI lawyer may be helpful in some cases.
Felony DUI and Involuntary or Aggravated Manslaughter
DUI charges also may become felony charges if individuals cause a fatal accident while driving under the influence. Involuntary manslaughter is a Class 5 felony, which can result in a jail sentence of one to ten years, a fine of up to $2,500, or both.
For a charge of aggravated manslaughter, which is based on a showing of reckless disregard for human life, the potential sentence of incarceration ranges from one to 20 years, with a minimum sentence of one year in prison.
Let a Loudoun County Felony DUI Attorney Help
With the help of a Loudoun County felony DUI lawyer, you may have the chance to minimize the penalties that you potentially face if you are convicted of DUI.
However, you may not have a chance to do unless you contact an experienced felony DUI defense attorney right away. Enlisting skilled legal assistance from the outset of your case may be crucial to lessening any punishment in the event of a DUI conviction.