Price Benowitz LLP is continuing to serve the community during the COVID-19 outbreak through the implementation of The Helping Hand Initiative. This plan seeks to help individuals who are more vulnerable to the virus by enlisting volunteers who can deliver groceries, medicine, and other necessary supplies. If you would like to volunteer or know someone who may be in need of assistance, please contact helpinghand@
Because your health is of the utmost importance to us, our team has begun working remotely. Our plan is to continue providing excellent service to our clients while ensuring the safety of our community and yours.
Being charged with a criminal offense can be intimidating for anyone, but what happens after an arrest can be even more daunting. With this in mind, a criminal lawyer Virginia can guide you through the legal process and protect your rights. If you are charged with a criminal offense in New Kent County, it is important to retain the service of an experienced and tenacious New Kent County criminal attorney, who understands what matters most to you and will work for a resolution with that in mind.
Driving at a speed or in a manner that puts lives or property in danger is the standard for reckless driving, but there is no requirement that there be an incident or injury before that occurs. Reckless driving is not solely a traffic violation in Virginia; it is a criminal offense with criminal penalties.
Racing or overtaking an emergency vehicle while it is visually and/or audibly responding to an emergency constitutes reckless driving, but the most common reason to be cited for it in Virginia is speeding. Driving 20 miles per hour or more above a posted speed limit, or driving faster than 80 miles per hour is considered reckless driving.
A reckless driving charge is classified with the most serious misdemeanor offenses. While in other states reckless driving may not be that big of a deal, anyone charged with reckless driving in New Kent, Virginia should consult with a criminal attorney in New Kent, about building a defense. The penalty following a conviction is up to one year in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, or both, and up to 6 months suspension of the privilege to drive in Virginia. There are also separate administrative penalties with the Department of Motor Vehicles, if you are convicted.
One of the most common drug charges in Virginia is simple possession. Simple possession is when an individual intentionally possesses a half ounce or less of marijuana. Generally, when a first-time offender is charged with simple possession, the penalty is a misdemeanor with jail time that is limited to 30 days, and a fine of up to $500.
The penalties for drug-related offenses are enhanced depending on the substance that a person is charged with possession of, the amount of the substance possessed, and whether or not there was intent to distribute it. The penalties for drug-related charges in Virginia range from a fine for less serious offenses, to imprisonment for the remainder of your life. A New Kent criminal attorney may be able to mitigate the penalties in these cases, and should certainly be consulted for these charges.
Driving under the influence of alcohol is a public safety issue which the Commonwealth of Virginia takes very seriously. If you meet the age requirement to legally drink alcohol and have a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher, you can be charged with a DUI, which is a class one misdemeanor in Virginia. Additionally, a conviction will result in administrative penalties, including loss of your driver’s license, and fines.
The Commonwealth is not compelled to be lenient with first-time offenders in any criminal case, and the penalties, if convicted, are often severe. What may be common in one jurisdiction can be unacceptable in another, so it is best to seek out experienced local counsel in the form of a New Kent County criminal lawyer if you are being investigated, or have been arrested and charged with a criminal offense in New Kent County. Doing so will preserve your chance for the best outcome in your case.
Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.