Manassas Reckless Driving Lawyer
Commuting and traveling through Prince William County can be tricky. If you are pulled over, you may discover that what you thought would be a simple traffic ticket is actually a reckless driving charge. Fortunately, a Manassas reckless driving lawyer can help you sort out the mess and work to avoid criminal conviction for a traffic offense. To find out what experienced legal representation can do for you, call and schedule a consultation.
Why Should I Work with a Reckless Driving Lawyer?
Often, a traffic stop leads to a warning or an ordinary traffic ticket. In many cases, it is not necessary to hire a lawyer to fight it. Sometimes, however, it is very important to have legal representation.
If you have already accumulated too many points against your license, if a traffic stop was illegal, or if you contest the ticket, hiring a traffic lawyer can be a smart move. If you are charged with reckless driving, hiring an attorney becomes even more important.
Reckless driving in Virginia is a criminal misdemeanor. It carries a fine of up to $2,500—much higher than a typical traffic ticket—and it is punishable by a maximum of one year in jail. Additionally, you’re privilege to drive may be suspended up to six months.
Certainly, it is unlikely that a person convicted of reckless driving would serve anywhere near a year in jail, but any jail time is too much. Our Manassas reckless driving lawyers are available to help you avoid not only heavy fines and jail time, but also a criminal record that could show up in background checks, causing employment difficulties.
If you are accused of reckless driving, do not attempt to just pay the fine and hope it goes away. Contact a reckless driving attorney in Manassas who can explain the charge and help you fight it.
Reckless Driving Laws in Virginia
Reckless driving in general is defined in Virginia Code 46.2-852 as any manner of driving that puts a person’s property or physical well-being in danger.
In addition to this somewhat vague and subjective definition of reckless driving, the Virginia Code also explicitly outlines several acts which constitute reckless driving:
- Excessive speed (20 mph above the posted limit or in excess of 80 mph)
- Driving too fast for conditions
- Faulty brakes
- Obstructed view
- Illegal passing (passing on a curve, passing at the crest of a hill, passing two vehicles abreast, passing at a railroad crossing)
- Passing a stopped school bus with flashing lights
- Driving two abreast in one lane
- Failure to yield right-of-way
- Failure to signal
Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, according to 46.2-868. In Virginia, the penalties for a Class 1 misdemeanor include up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500 as well as a license suspension up to six months. There are mitigating factors to a reckless driving charge, such as taking a driver’s improvement class. If you are unsure whether this will help you, speak with a reckless driving attorney.
Types of Reckless Driving Charges
- Reckless by speed
- Reckless by vehicle not under control
- Reckless by accident
- Reckless by general danger to life, limb, or property
However, state law allows a Manassas reckless driving lawyer to negotiate a reduced charge of “Improper Driving.” Defined in 46.2-869, improper driving is not a misdemeanor crime. Rather, it is a traffic infraction penalized only by a $500 fine. Having your speedometer calibrated after a reckless driving charge can also help to mitigate the consequences.
Finding a Reckless Driving Attorney in Manassas, Virginia
Whether you live in Prince William County or you are an out-of-state driver caught in Virginia’s tough traffic laws, our Manassas reckless driving attorneys can help you. They can discuss the circumstances of your case with you and explain necessary details.
If you were caught driving at an excessive speed while driving through a speed trap, talk to your lawyer to see if there’s a defense that can be made. Call today to schedule a free consultation to learn more.