Price Benowitz LLP is continuing to serve the community during the COVID-19 outbreak through the implementation of The Helping Hand Initiative. This plan seeks to help individuals who are more vulnerable to the virus by enlisting volunteers who can deliver groceries, medicine, and other necessary supplies. If you would like to volunteer or know someone who may be in need of assistance, please contact helpinghand@
Because your health is of the utmost importance to us, our team has begun working remotely. Our plan is to continue providing excellent service to our clients while ensuring the safety of our community and yours.
A Newport News reckless driving lawyer can help you fight to keep your license and avoid a criminal record if you are accused of violating Virginia’s traffic laws. Reckless driving is much more serious than just getting a traffic citation because it is actually a misdemeanor criminal offense. As with all criminal charges, you have the right to remain silent, the right to a lawyer, and the right to be considered innocent until proven guilty.
A reckless driving lawyer in Newport News will work hard to help you protect your rights, record, and reputation.
Newport News Virginia is the fifth most populated city in Virginia, and is served by an elaborate network of state and interstate highways; a bridge-tunnel; bridges; and public transportation. Every driver on the roads in Newport News is expected to exercise reasonable care and obey the laws set forth in the Virginia Motor Vehicle Code.
Drivers who disobey the rules can be cited, like getting a speeding ticket or a ticket for running a stop sign. However, when you are accused of disobeying the rules or behaving so carelessly that you endanger the life, limb, and property of others, you can be charged with the crime of reckless driving under Virginia Code Section 46.2-852.
The question of whether your behavior behind the wheel rose to the level of reckless disregard is a subjective one. While police and prosecutors have discretion in determining whether your behavior is a simple violation of traffic laws or a misdemeanor crime, some of the common behaviors that routinely lead to reckless driving charges and may warrant contact with a Newport News reckless driving lawyer include:
These are just some of many actions you could take that could land you in court facing a charge of reckless driving. If you are an out-of-state driver, click here to learn more.
Penalties for reckless driving are established in Code Section 46.2-868. For a first offense, you could face a year imprisonment and a $2,500 fine. An additional $250 fine is assessed if you were using a cell phone or other handled device while operating your vehicle in a reckless way.
Six demerit points will go on your driving record if convicted of reckless driving, and too many demerit points can lead to a required driver improvement course or the suspension of your license for 90 days. Points also make your insurance premiums go way up.
The reckless driving conviction is going to show up on your driving record for 11 years, and employers who require a clean driving record are unlikely to hire you when this conviction shows up in a background check.
A Newport News reckless driving lawyer can provide legal advice to clients who face charges. Your attorney will work hard to help you put together a case, raise defenses, introduce doubt, and do everything you can to avoid conviction in trial. Your reckless driving attorney in Newport News can also help you to try to negotiate a favorable plea deal with the prosecutor if you do not want a trial.
There is never any guarantee when faced with any criminal charges, but having an experienced reckless driving lawyer in Newport News on your side can help you to make informed choices and respond strategically to your charges. Call an attorney today to learn more.
Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.