Your Virginia Legal Team

Annandale DUI Lawyer

Whether you are charged with a DUI at a local checkpoint or after having been stopped for a different traffic infraction, they may not understand the severity of charges against them or how best to approach the criminal legal system. An Annadale DUI lawyer can help you prepare a defense or enter a plea deal where the person’s penalties will be reduced.

The defense attorneys at our firm understand how intimidating it can be to face any type of criminal charges—especially a charge with such severe penalties and long-term social and financial implications. In these situations, it’s important to realize that you have the option to make an investment in your own future by working with an experienced legal advocate who understands both the local court system and the people who operate within that system. If you call our Northern Virginia law offices today, a member of our legal team will conduct your free initial consultation and help you to understand what the next steps in the process may be for you.

DUI Charges and Penalties

Under Virginia’s laws, you can face criminal prosecution if you operate a vehicle while impaired by drugs or alcohol and have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 or higher. A common misunderstanding is that anyone with a BAC of 0.08 or higher will automatically be convicted of a DUI. However, you can argue that there was an issue with how the BAC was obtained, the testing procedure and that the evidence was not handled properly. If a police officer does not have probable cause that you are under the influence of alcohol then the officer should not conduct a breathalyzer test to begin with.

Penalties for Drunk Driving

Based on the facts and evidence obtained in your case, your criminal lawyer will advise you on how best to plead. An Annandale lawyer knows the evidence that is essential to obtain and works with a prosecutor to obtain a plea deal for DUI charges. If a case goes to court, and the person is found guilty of a DUI, the penalties will depend on prior convictions and the determined BAC level.

An initial drunk driving offense can require that you will have to pay at least $250. The amount of jail time you may potentially serve will be determined by the BAC level. When the BAC is 0.15 or more then you may face a mandatory minimum five-day jail term. This increases to a 10-day mandatory minimum if the BAC is greater than 0.20.

Local DUI Enforcement

Due to the variety of restaurants and bars in Annandale, the Fairfax County Police Department and the state police actively enforce DUIs in this area. This includes extra officers on patrol on nights and weekends to look for drunk drivers and occasionally deploying checkpoints near areas where DUIs are more common.

This aggressive enforcement assumes that, because you were in an area with a lot of bars and restaurants then the person must have been actively drinking. This is often not the case and may lead people to have to face charges for a crime for which they are most likely innocent. A lawyer in Annandale could help someone deal with law enforcement if they have been charged with DUI.

Contact an Annandale DUI Attorney Today

A DUI conviction can have serious implications on your record. An Annandale DUI lawyer can help you aggressively respond to charges involving drunk driving. There are many issues that a lawyer will consider when determining whether you should decide to take a plea deal or take the chance of having the drunk driving case go to trial. Our legal team is available to schedule you for a consultation with one of our criminal lawyers who can help explain the charges against you and how best they should be handled.

Contact Us

Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.

Copyright 2024 Virginia Criminal Lawyer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer/Privacy Policy