Price Benowitz LLP is continuing to serve the community during the COVID-19 outbreak through the implementation of The Helping Hand Initiative. This plan seeks to help individuals who are more vulnerable to the virus by enlisting volunteers who can deliver groceries, medicine, and other necessary supplies. If you would like to volunteer or know someone who may be in need of assistance, please contact helpinghand@
Because your health is of the utmost importance to us, our team has begun working remotely. Our plan is to continue providing excellent service to our clients while ensuring the safety of our community and yours.
Reckless driving is a serious criminal offense under Virginia law. In fact, reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is the most serious level of misdemeanor under state law. Unlike many other traffic violations, reckless driving is punishable by jail time, in addition to other penalties including fines and DMV points.
If you are facing a reckless driving charge in Dinwiddie, contact a Dinwiddie reckless driving lawyer. An experienced defense attorney can help protect your driving record and will work hard to help you avoid conviction when possible.
Reckless driving means operating a motor vehicle in a manner that could result in injury to another or property damage. Virginia Code Section defines reckless driving, and prohibits anyone from driving on any highway recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.
Violating this general reckless driving law in Dinwiddie can lead to a Class 1 misdemeanor charge.
In addition to a general reckless driving law, state law also defines other, specific reckless driving charges, including:
All of these reckless driving charges are Class 1 misdemeanors.
One common reckless driving charge is excessive speeding. Virginia Code prohibits driving on a highway at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or driving on a highway at any speed over 80 miles per hour.
This means that if a motorist drives 75 MPH on a highway with a speed limit of 55 MPH, they could face a reckless driving charge. The same charge applies for those who drive at more than 80 MPH on a highway, regardless of what the posted speed limit is.
All reckless driving charges are Class 1 misdemeanors under Virginia law. Penalties for reckless driving in Dinwiddie, even for first-time offenses, include:
It is important to note that a conviction for reckless driving remains on someone’s driving record for 11 years. A driver’s record can affect their insurance rates and can be included in employment background checks. The more DMV points a Dinwiddie driver has on their record, the more negative consequences they could face.
Someone’s best chance at avoiding these penalties is by contacting a Dinwiddie reckless driving lawyer as soon as possible.
If you are facing reckless driving charges in Dinwiddie and are concerned with how a conviction could affect your driving record, contact a Dinwiddie reckless driving lawyer. An experienced attorney can defend you in court and work hard to reduce the impact of a reckless driving charge.
Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.