Fairfax Second DUI Attorney
If you face a second DUI charge, do not hesitate to contact a highly skilled Fairfax second DUI lawyer today.
Second DUI charges are extremely serious, especially if the previous DUI charge occurred within the last five years. The court system examines the defendant’s driving and criminal record when a second DUI occurs, meaning you do not want to face the charges alone.
Call a DUI lawyer in Fairfax today.
Second DUI Offense Jail Time
A jail sentence is more than likely for second time DUI offense. For defendants with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 to 0.14, a 10 day mandatory minimum jail sentence is instituted if your previous DUI was within 10 years. This mandatory sentence increases to 20 days if your first DUI was within five years. Below is a quick reference for blood alcohol levels with regards to second DUI offenses in Virginia:
Mandatory jail time is strictly enforced in many cases. Your chances for a favorable outcome in court are greatly enhanced with the help of a qualified Fairfax second DUI lawyer.
Second DUI Offense Penalty Fees
Regardless of the time between your first and second offense, convicted persons must pay a minimum fine of $500 and a maximum of $2500 in addition to any court fees, program fees, and fees for ignition interlock.
Second DUI Offense License Suspension
If convicted of your second DUI offense, your license will be suspended for three years. If your first DUI charge falls within five years, you will be eligible for a restricted license 12 months after conviction. If your first DUI charge falls within 10 years, you could obtain a restricted license after four months. A restricted license will limit your driving abilities between work and school, along with medical appointments and court-mandated counseling. In addition, you must equip your vehicle with an ignition interlock device.
Using this device, which will be mounted on your dashboard if you are convicted of a second DUI in Virginia, you must log your BAC level before you start the car and for every five to 20 minutes during vehicle operation. If a high BAC is detected, the car’s lights will flash and the horn will sound until the vehicle is turned off. The ignition interlock device is designed to detect tampering efforts.
Hire a Fairfax Second DUI Lawyer
You want a lawyer who has successfully fielded second DUI charges and is not afraid to take on the court system to come to your defense. It is regrettable that you are facing this second charge, but you should not sacrifice your freedom to jail time without a skilled second offense DUI attorney in Fairfax representing you who will examine all the facts present.
Perhaps flaws in the police’s case against you can expose ways you have been unjustly treated. Knowing your rights is imperative to a winning case, and with an experienced Fairfax second DUI lawyer on your side, you may be able to reduce the penalties listed above. Make sure to contact a Fairfax second offense DUI attorney as soon as you are able so you have the chance
Make sure to contact a Fairfax second offense DUI attorney as soon as you are able so you have the chance at a solid defense.