Your Virginia Legal Team

Greensville DUI Lawyer

Virginia, like most states in the country, cracks down harshly on drunk driving offenses. If you have been charged with a DUI in Virginia, it is essential that you have legal representation throughout your entire case.

An experienced Greensville DUI lawyer can help explain all of your legal rights to you and make sure that those rights are safeguarded throughout the pendency of your case. An experienced DUI attorney can help to build your defense as soon as possible.

Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC)

In Virginia, a DUI is measured by a driver’s blood alcohol concentration, or BAC, and based upon that driver’s age and license type. If a driver is pulled over during a routine traffic stop and the driver’s BAC is one of the following percentages or higher, the driver will immediately be arrested on a DUI charge:

  • 08% for a driver who is 21 years of age or older
  • 02% for a driver who is under 21 years of age
  • 04% for commercial (CDL) drivers

In addition to a DUI, Greensville DUI lawyers often see drivers also charged with some or all of the following alcohol-related offenses:

  • Open container charge
  • Buying alcohol for (or distributing alcohol to) an underage minor
  • Misrepresenting one’s age
  • Possessing alcohol on school property

Possible Criminal and Civil Penalties

If a driver is 21 years of age or older, they can be subject to the following potential penalties following a first-offense DUI conviction in Greensville:

  • Administrative seven-day license suspension
  • Minimum fine of $250; maximum fine of $300
  • One year license revocation
  • Court-order restitution at the judge’s discretion
  • Required participation in an Alcohol Safety Action Program
  • Possible installation of an ignition interlock device in the vehicle
  • Possible driver’s license restriction
  • A criminal record

High BAC

These penalties increase for repeat DUI offenders and in cases where the driver has an extremely high BAC. For example, in cases where a driver’s BAC is at least 0.15 %, the driver may be subject to the following penalties upon conviction:

  • An additional five days in jail for a first offense
  • An additional 10 days in jail for a second offense (if the second offense is within 10 years of the first offense)

If the driver has a BAC of greater than 0.20%, then the driver could be subject to the following additional penalties upon conviction:

  • 10 days in jail for a first offense
  • 20 days in jail for a second offense (if the second offense is within 10 years of the first offense), plus a $500 fine

Civil Penalties

In addition to the criminal penalties referenced above, Virginia law also imposes civil penalties, called administrative license suspensions, when a driver fails or refuses to take a chemical test, such as a breathalyzer test.

An administrative license suspension means that the DMV will automatically suspend the driver’s license for a period of time, depending upon the number of prior offenses on the driver’s record.

Contact a Greensville DUI Attorney Today

Being charged with a DUI in Greensville is serious, and a conviction can cost you both personally and professionally. Penalties for a DUI conviction can include hefty fines – and even jail time – depending upon the facts, circumstances, and seriousness of the offense.

DUI lawyers in Greensville can help protect your legal rights and provide you with legal representation throughout your case and may also be able to help you obtain a reduction of your charge and/or a penalty reduction upon conviction.

You should feel free to contact a Greensville DUI attorney at any time, via telephone or email, for an initial consultation.

Contact Us

Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.

Copyright 2024 Virginia Criminal Lawyer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer/Privacy Policy