There are multiple driving infractions that may be classified as reckless driving in Virginia. Unlike a citation for other traffic violations, reckless driving is a criminal offense, which will not disappear with payment of a fine.
Criminal offenses require the accused to report to the appropriate court, in the jurisdiction where they were charged, at an appointed time. That remains true even if someone was charged with reckless driving in Virginia while traveling to or from a vacation.
If you have been charged with reckless driving in Hampton, do not delay in contacting a Hampton reckless driving lawyer for an assessment of your case from a knowledgeable attorney.
In Virginia, reckless driving is defined as driving on any highway in a manner or at a speed that endangers life, limb, or property. The applicable law has 14 articles that explain what driving infractions rise to reckless driving in the state and the corresponding penalties for them.
The most common form of reckless driving within the state is speeding. Driving in excess of 80 miles per hour or driving 20 miles per hour or more over the posted speed limit constitutes reckless driving. Driving the speed limit in inclement weather could also be reckless driving, if an officer believed that the speed was too fast for the road conditions.
Racing, passing a stopped school bus, and failing to yield to the lane that has the right-of-way are also acts that could result in being charged with reckless driving.
Reckless driving is a class one misdemeanor in Virginia so it is punishable under criminal law with up to 12 months imprisonment, fines up to $2,500, or both. As a class one misdemeanor, it is the most serious misdemeanor offense. While incarceration is not likely in reckless driving cases, that sentence may be imposed based on the totality of your driving record.
Since a reckless driving charge is a criminal offense, there is no option to plead guilty by paying a fine before a deadline. You are required to report to court on the date that is specified on the citation, just as you would be if you were charged with a felony offense. This is one of the reasons it is vital to work with a reckless driving lawyer in Hampton.
A conviction for reckless driving also has administrative penalties. It accrues six points on your driving record, which is maintained by the Department of Motor Vehicles, and will remain on your record for 11 years. You are also at risk of losing driving privileges for up to six months if you are a Virginia resident or losing the right to drive in the state if you are licensed in another state or district.
The revocation of your driving privileges will be reported to the state that you are licensed in and a number of states will suspend your valid license for the same period of time that your ability to drive in Virginia is revoked.
Regardless of the underlying act that led to a reckless driving charge, it is in your best interest to contact an experienced Hampton reckless driving attorney.
A skilled Hampton reckless driving lawyer will not just work to get your case dismissed and encourage you to plead guilty if it is not; a knowledgeable attorney will consider your best interests and work towards the best outcome available to you with that goal in mind.
Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.