Your Virginia Legal Team

Reston DUI Lawyer

If you or someone close to you is facing criminal charges for driving under the influence (DUI) in Reston, Virginia, then contacting a Reston DUI lawyer is one of the best ways to find out how you can have the charges against you reduced or even dropped.

Any sort of criminal record can keep you from achieving the short-term or long-term goals you have set for yourself. Educators and employers alike look at and consider your criminal record when making important decisions regarding accepting or hiring someone. That is why one of the best ways to protect yourself and your record is by having an experienced Reston DUI attorney by your side.

Call and schedule a consultation today with a criminal defense lawyer in Reston to discuss your case.

Get to Know Virginia’s DUI Laws

An experienced Reston DUI lawyer who knows the law, court procedures, and personnel can help you to create a defense strategy that can work in your favor. A strong defense strategy is key to making sure any charges against you that can be reduced or dropped actually get reduced or dropped.

However, that does not mean that you can’t become more familiar with the law and find out what to expect when you have been charged with a DUI in Virginia.

A DUI is considered to be a serious crime in the United States. Virginia is no different, but the severity of penalties and punishments associated with DUIs vary based on the following two important factors:

  • Age
  • History of offenses

Penalties and Consequences Based on Age

Under Virginia Code Section 18.2-266.1, underage drivers charged with a DUI, which is a Class 1 misdemeanor, can face any or all of the following:

  • Underage drivers can have their license taken away for one year; and
  • They can be fined, which is mandatory, up to $500;
  • Or, they can be ordered to complete 50 hours of community service, which is also mandatory

Penalties and Punishments Based on History of Offenses

Under Section 18.2-270, the first DUI offense for a driver is a Class 1 misdemeanor. Drivers charged with a first offense can face a mandatory fine of $250.

Subsequent offenses are considered felonies under the law, and they come with harsher penalties and punishments ranging from a mandatory fine of $500 and a mandatory jail sentence of 20 days for a second offense within a five year period to a mandatory fine of $1,000 or more and a mandatory jail sentence of 365 days for a fourth offense within a ten year period. Facing these penalties warrants attention from a criminal lawyer in Reston.

Retain a Reston DUI Lawyer Today

The Reston DUI attorneys at our firm have the local knowledge and the in-court experience necessary to support you throughout the legal process. From helping you understand your rights to exploring your defense options and aggressively advocating on your behalf, our criminal defense lawyers are dedicated to supporting our clients.

The hiring process is simple and starts with a free initial consultation, which is easy to schedule over the phone by contacting our legal team.

Call our law offices today to get started.

Contact Us

Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.

Designed & Developed by