In the Commonwealth of Virginia, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs can result in the automatic suspension of your license to drive. You can also be charged with a crime, lose your license, go to jail, and be left with a permanent criminal record, especially if you are convicted of an underage DUI. DUI charges are serious and need to be taken very seriously. A Virginia Beach DUI lawyer can help you respond to your charges and understand your legal options after you have been accused of driving under the influence. Call today to discuss your case with a criminal defense attorney in Virginia Beach.
An arrest for a DUI does not always result in you being convicted, even if you took a test and your blood alcohol concentration exceeded the legal limit. A Virginia Beach DUI lawyer can help you to:
Prosecutors have to prove that you’re guilty or you should not be convicted. Your attorney can help you defend yourself, raise doubts, or negotiate a plea bargain to reduce penalties. Contact a Virginia Beach DUI lawyer for assistance as soon as possible for advice on how to handle your case. Call today to discuss some important mistakes people should avoid making when they have been pulled over under suspicion of DUI.
Additionally, when police officers flag someone down for a traffic stop, there is the possibility they could violate constitutional rights while trying to find probable cause to place someone under arrest for a crime. A lawyer with experience can help you deal with these issues in court and bring them to the attention of court officials. If you don’t know what to expect during a DUI traffic stop, call and speak with a lawyer so that you will be prepared should you ever find yourself in that situation.
Part of being charged with a DUI is proving impairment, which can involve a blood alcohol content test. You can be charged with DUI if you are under the legal limit of .08 as long as there is reason to believe that alcohol, drugs, or any combination of alcohol or drugs made it unsafe for you to drive. The penalties that you will face vary depending upon whether you have ever been convicted of impaired driving in the past. For example:
These penalties occur after conviction. You also face an automatic administrative suspension of your license as soon as a BAC test reveals that you are over-the-limit. Your license will be suspended automatically for seven days for a first offense and 60 days for a repeat offense. In some areas, including Virginia Beach, it is now mandatory to have an ignition interlock device installed in order to obtain a restricted license. Additionally, you can also be charged with a DUI if you are operating a vehicle while under the influence of drugs or under the influence of drugs and alcohol.
Even a first offense DUI with a blood alcohol level of 0.15-0.20 carries a five day minimum mandatory jail sentence, and a blood alcohol level greater than 0.20 carries a 10 day minimum mandatory jail term. See VA Code Section 18.2-270(B)3. This does not prevent the court from giving more time in jail. With DUI penalties like these, you cannot afford to sit idly by and do nothing. In order to protect all of your rights and freedoms,you should ensure that you have every tool possible to fight your DUI charge. Contact a Virginia Beach DUI lawyer today.
Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.