Facing a reckless driving charge in Virginia? The following is what you need to know regarding what constitutes reckless driving and penalties associated with a conviction. To learn more or begin building a defense contact a Virginia reckless driving lawyer today.
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor offense in Virginia. There are a wide variety of different actions that can lead to a reckless driving charge. The most common is reckless driving by speed, however, you could have reckless driving involving many different types of driving behavior, many of which result in a car accidents. With reckless driving in Virginia, it is important to understand that you are facing a potential loss of license, high fines, and even jail time.
The most common ways are by speeding 20 mph or more above the speed limit or driving 81 mph or more. That’s called reckless driving by speed. Another type of reckless driving is general reckless driving. Often times you see this charged to different types of accident cases where someone’s driving behavior led either to a single car accident or an accident involving other vehicles.
Anywhere from a fine of below $100 to $2,500 and jail time from probation only to up to 12 months. Also, you can face a potential loss of license for a maximum 6 months.
Many people from other states are surprised because in their state, speeding is simply an infraction with just a fine. In Virginia, reckless driving is a misdemeanor charge meaning you could have a permanent criminal record if you’re convicted and you could face even higher fines and jail time with reckless driving.
That’s why it is important to understand the difference between traffic infractions where you just face fines and a reckless driving where it’s a misdemeanor charge and can be part of a criminal record.
With any reckless driving conviction, you will have a traffic record for eleven years in Virginia. You’ll have -6 points out of your Virginia your driving record. This can also transfer to another state if you have a license in another state. This means it can have an effect on background checks and on your insurance premiums for your car, even if you aren’t licensed in Virginia.
Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.