Your Virginia Legal Team

Richmond DUI Penalties

The penalties for a DUI in Richmond depend on the facts of your case, as well as whether you have any prior driving under the influence charges. To learn about the potential penalties you could be facing, call today and schedule a free consultation with a Richmond DUI lawyer.

What Are the Penalties for a First Time DUI?

If convicted with a first offense DUI it comes with fine of $250, but up to $2,500, a 12-month loss of license, a possible jail sentence of up to 12 months, and  a requirement to complete the VASAP course which is the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program.

In addition to that, you can get a restricted operator’s license during the course of that revocation; however you would need to get an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle for a minimum of at least twelve months. If it is a first offense DUI with a blood alcohol level 0.15 or higher to 0.15 to 0.20, then it comes with five days minimum mandatory jail time and if it is a DUI that is a 0.20 or higher, then it comes with a ten-day minimum mandatory jail time. The more aggravated the DUI and blood alcohol level standards, the higher probability of an active jail sentence.

What Are The Penalties For A Second DUI?

For a second offense DUI, the punishments can be severe. If the second offense DUI is within five years it comes with twenty days minimum mandatory jail and a three-year revocation of license. You can apply for a restricted license, but you have to wait one year to do that. The fines typically range– anywhere between $500 to $1,000 on those.

If the second offense within ten years, then there’s a ten-day minimum mandatory jail sentence, a three-year revocation of license and you can apply for a restricted operator’s license after four months. Obviously with both of those situations you would need to get an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle. And in both of those cases if there is an elevated blood alcohol level, the minimum mandatory jail time increases if it is a 0.15 or higher or 0.20 higher.

What are the Penalties for a Third DUI?

A third offense DUI is broken down in two categories. If it’s a third offense within five years, it is a class 6 felony that comes with six months minimum mandatory jail time. If it is a third offense within 10 years, this is also a class six felony that carries with it 90 days minimum mandatory jail time. With both of these it is typically a $1,000 fine and an indefinite revocation of your license.

Contact Us

Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.

Designed & Developed by