Your Virginia Legal Team

Consequences of Virginia Theft Charges

Below, a theft lawyer in Virginia discusses the consequences associated with a theft or larceny conviction in VA. To learn more, call and schedule a consultation with an attorney today.

What Penalties Are Attached to Misdemeanor Larceny Conviction?

Petit larceny is a class one misdemeanor in Virginia, which means someone can face anywhere from probation and a small fine to 12 months in jail and a fine of $2500. A second petit larceny conviction could potentially lead to 30 days or more in jail. A third or subsequent conviction can lead to a class six felony, which has a maximum sentence of five years in jail.

Additionally, for a misdemeanor petit larceny case, you are facing fines and court costs. The max fine is $2500 and court costs are oftentimes more than $100. Failure to pay your fines and costs may lead to the suspension of your driver’s license.

What Alternative Sentences Are Available To An Individual Facing Larceny Charges For The First Time?

The first-offender program is ideal because it allows someone to complete community service hours and a class with the possibility of having their charge dismissed. Other jurisdictions may be willing to consider a general continuance where someone has to complete community service and also make sure they maintain good behavior in order to get the charged reduced. However, these options are not available everywhere, making it important to have an attorney who understands the differences in how each jurisdiction approaches larceny offenses.

What Are Eligibility Requirements For Enrolling in Alternative Sentencing Programs?

The most important thing is that they have no prior larceny convictions and that they have never done such a program in the past. That is what prosecutors will be focused on in order to decide whether they are willing to amend a charge or allow someone to complete a first-offender program.

In Virginia, is it Possible For Someone To Have a Misdemeanor Larceny Charge Expunged From Their Record?

If someone is convicted of misdemeanor larceny, they will not be able to expunge the conviction from their adult record. However, if someone is in a first-offender program and they get the charge dismissed, they will avoid having a conviction on their criminal record.

Contact Us

Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.

Copyright 2024 Virginia Criminal Lawyer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer/Privacy Policy