Your Virginia Legal Team

Arlington DUI Laws

Given the large number of drunk driving accidents across the country, it is no surprise that Arlington cracks down on driving under the influence (DUI) enforcement. This is especially true on weekends and over holidays.

Arlington law enforcement uses a driver’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) as the basis for a DUI arrest. If you sustain a DUI conviction, you may be subject to various penalties, including fines and jail time.

If the Commonwealth of Virginia has charged you with DUI, an experienced DUI criminal defense attorney can explain the Arlington DUI laws to you, as well as potential defenses.

Blood Alcohol Content Limits

If a driver has a certain BAC level, a police officer can arrest them. Those levels depend upon a person’s age, as well as the type of license which they hold. Under Arlington DUI laws, an officer can arrest a driver for DUI under any of the following circumstances:

  • The driver is 21 or more years old and has a BAC of 0.08 percent
  • The driver is under 21 years old and has a BAC of 0.02 percent
  • The driver holds a commercial driver’s license (i.e. a CDL license) and has a BAC of 0.04 percent or higher

Potential Penalties for Arlington DUI Convictions

If the Commonwealth convicts a driver aged 21 or older for DUI, the potential penalties depend largely upon the number of prior offenses (if any) and the driver’s BAC. Drivers with a high BAC will usually receive a harsh penalty upon conviction.

For example, a first DUI conviction can carry a one-year license revocation and up to $2,500 in fines, in addition to other penalties. A third offense, on the other hand, can carry six months of jail time and a minimum fine of $1,000.

In either case, a court may require that the driver attend an Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP) and agree to install an ignition interlock device on their vehicle. An ignition interlock device will not allow the driver to start their car without first blowing into the device. If the device detects alcohol on the driver’s breath, the car will not start.

Drivers with an extremely high BAC may receive additional penalties on top of the ones already mentioned. For example, if a driver has a BAC which is higher than 0.15 percent, a judge could sentence them to an additional five days in jail. If the BAC is over .20, then there are a mandatory 10 days in jail.

A driver who is under the age of 21 at the time of their DUI conviction may receive a one-year license suspension from the date of their conviction. The driver may also receive a minimum fine of $500 – or 50 hours (minimum) of community service. Finally, the driver’s license could be subject to a restriction, and the driver may have to attend an ASAP.

A commercial driver convicted of DUI could receive up to one year of incarceration and/or a $2,500 fine.

Talk to a Criminal Defense Attorney Regarding Arlington DUI Laws

As you can see, the potential penalties upon conviction for DUI can be extremely high. Consequently, if the Commonwealth has charged you with DUI, you do not want to leave the outcome of your case to chance.

A skilled DUI criminal defense lawyer can discuss how Arlington DUI laws work, as well as the potential penalties upon conviction. A lawyer may also be able to help you formulate a good defense to your DUI charge.

Contact Us

Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.

Copyright 2024 Virginia Criminal Lawyer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer/Privacy Policy