Your Virginia Legal Team

Spotsylvania County Traffic Lawyer

The Virginia DMV reports that in 2013, there was a car accident every four minutes in the Commonwealth. Virginia’s traffic laws serve to make the roads safer, but it can be easy to find yourself accused of breaking them through inattention, lack of knowledge, or simple mistakes.

If you are accused of breaking any traffic laws, a Spotsylvania County traffic lawyer can ease the difficulty of the experience. Call today and schedule a consultation with an attorney in Spotsylvania to discuss your violation or charge. En Español.

Registration and Insurance

Driving any vehicle on the roads without registering it (or registering it fraudulently or allowing the registration to lapse) results in a misdemeanor charge that comes with up to six months’ imprisonment and a fine of up to $1,000.

The Virginia DMV also requires that every vehicle owner to pay insurance or an uninsured vehicle fee of $500. The insurance policy must cover:

  • $25,000 for injury or death of one individual
  • $50,000 for injury or death of two people
  • $20,000 for property damage

Lack of insurance and nonpayment of the uninsured motor vehicle fee can result in a misdemeanor charge, a $500 fine, and suspension of your license (Va. Code 46.2-707).

If you find yourself facing any charges for these administrative infractions, the experience of a traffic attorney from Spotsylvania County can help minimize any inconvenience to you.

Traffic Infractions

In addition to lacking proper documentation for the operation of your motor vehicle, you can face penalties for breaking Virginia traffic laws while driving. Infractions are enumerated in Title 46.2 of the Virginia code and include:

  • Speeding
  • Failing to signal
  • Ignoring traffic lights
  • Not following right-of-way laws

Most of the time, going against traffic laws in Virginia counts as a non-criminal traffic infraction with a fine of up to $250 (46.2-113). However, more serious infractions, such as reckless driving, can result in much more serious penalties and warrant attention from a Virginia traffic lawyer.

Points System/License Suspension

Virginia assigns points to your driver’s license for traffic infractions. If you accumulate a lot of points, there are very inconvenient penalties. If you hit 24 points within two years, your license can be suspended. A list of offenses and the points assigned for them can be found on the DMV website.

License suspension is very inconvenient, as it takes away your mobility, which can be very important for things like going to work and seeing family. The right lawyer can help you apply for a restricted license, which is a special license that will allow you to drive within certain limitations, such as:

  • To go to work or school
  • To pick up your kids
  • To go to a worship service

How a Spotsylvania County Traffic Lawyer Can Help

The stress and financial difficulty that can arise from facing traffic charges can seem to be too much. A Spotsylvania County traffic lawyer can help you face this difficulty by helping to minimize fines and jail time, by helping to ensure that you retain your ability to drive, and by giving you guidance. Call today for a free consultation.

Contact Us

Do not send us confidential information related to you or your company until you speak with one of our attorneys and get authorization to send that information to us.

Copyright 2024 Virginia Criminal Lawyer. All rights reserved. Disclaimer/Privacy Policy